Skip to content

Best Interview Ever!

June 2, 2014

I love reading interviews with Keith and have read/seen/heard some really good ones over the years but after 13 years of fandom (how old AM I???) this new Rolling Stone one is the best I’ve ever read. Kudos to both the interviewer and Keith! She asked the right questions and he answered with a previously unseen level of honesty, and that’s saying a lot because he’s always been very open about his struggles.

However, the bit that really filled my heart with joy was this:

You’ve also showed your sensitive side on camera, most recently at the Grammys. You were tearing up at the same and opposite-sex wedding ceremony during Macklemore and Ryan Lewis’ “Same Love” performance. What was going through your head?

I see these people coming down the aisle and there are all these multiple couples and I go, “Oh, that’s cool,” because the song’s “Same Love.” Queen Latifah starts acting like she’s really marrying people and then I suddenly went, “Wait a minute, this is California, this is really happening.” I get chills now. When you [attend] a wedding between two people who love each other, and you see that and you feel that, if you don’t cry, then you may want to check your pulse. I mean, really, it’s love. That was one of the most extraordinary things I’d ever seen on TV.

Did you get any backlash to your reaction?

I didn’t hear about it. I’m sure there’s plenty of it. I mean, God knows the naysayers of the world have a very big platform now to make a lot of noise. I could care less. If you don’t support love, then I think there’s a problem.

Hell yeah!!

Keith, I will always love you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

