Skip to content

Springsteen’s Olympic Marathon

August 1, 2012

Last night I witnessed something remarkable. Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band played their last show of their European leg of the Wrecking Ball tour to a packed Olympic stadium here in Helsinki. They played for a whopping 4 hours and 6 minutes, well past the “curfew” of 11pm. The people living near the stadium might not have appreciated it but we sure loved every minute of it. We had our seats at the back of the stadium but stood for at least the last 3 hours of the show and boy am I sore! I woke up this morning feeling like I’d been to some booze filled party, yet all I had was one little drink before the gig started. It was an epic gig hangover, and I still can feel it all over. Especially in my throat, because man did we sing at the top of our lungs when he launched into the hits. Phew! I can’t imagine how he does it, being just a few months shy of 63(!!!).

I’m not the biggest Springsteen fan but I sure am glad I didn’t miss this gig. It was one for the books, and his longest ever. Wow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

