Skip to content

Papa Nez is coming my way!

June 28, 2012
tags:

A week or so ago, Michael Nesmith announced on Facebook that he was doing a few concerts in the UK this October. Yes, you read that correctly. THE Michael Nesmith, “Wool Hat”, “Papa Nez”, “Space Cowboy”, “Infinite Rider on the Big Dogma”, “inventor of MTV”, is coming to a venue not so far away from me! The thought of actually seeing him live is a little much for me, and my brain can’t quite comprehend it.

How could I not try my very best to make it to one of his shows? He was a Monkee (my favourite band of all time) and had a stellar solo career as well, he wrote my favourite novel (The Long Sandy Hair of Neftoon Zamora), he damn nearly invented MTV and country rock, and he is one of the coolest cats to ever walk the earth.

Nez has been a bit of a recluse the last few years, only performing a very few shows once in a while, sticking more to his quiet life with his dog in California. He is still making music and now he’s found Facebook to convey his insightful musings about life. He’s still as awesome as ever.

Here he is singing one of my favourite Monkees tunes on The Johnny Cash Show (how cool is that??):

Watching this video made my eyes well up… oh Davy… RIP

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

