Skip to content

THE MONKEES ARE REUNITING

February 22, 2011
tags:

I just got the best news in a very long time. Davy, Peter and Micky will be reuniting and touring the UK in May. Nez as usual won’t be joining them, but that is to be expected. He’s busy doing his thing. (Still love you Nez! Mwah!) This means, however, that I have a once in a lifetime chance to see the band that I’ve loved since I was about 12 years old. The first CD I ever bought with my own money was a Monkees greatest hits compilation. I remember it very clearly. It was the beginning of a beautiful obsession. Back then I never would’ve imagined that this day would come… I have an actual, do-able, not-completely-out-of-reach opportunity to see them live.

It took a bit of time to sink in but when it did I had to shed a few tears of joy and made a promise to myself that I was going to go see at least one of the gigs.

Let me demonstrate my love for them:

A poster from the sixties, in a frame of course, and currently on my wall.

A tiny snapshot of my collection.

A miniature Monkeemobile that I put together myself.

I almost put a picture of my painting that I did of them in lower secondary school, but decided against it.. It’s not very good, but it has sentimental value.

I’ll be waiting for the tickets to come on sale with baited breath. In the mean time, here’s some awesome reading about Papa Nez (Michael Nesmith for those not in the know):

Circle Sky and You Just May Be The One

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

