Skip to content

Grammy Awards 2011 recap

February 14, 2011

Yes. I watched the Grammy Awards last night. I stayed up past 6 in the morning, good thing I don’t have work to go to. So what’s my verdict of the night? Well, I’m very very happy that Keith Urban got his fourth win, and that Lady Antebellum grabbed the majority of the top awards. I’m also glad that country was so well represented. To bad that Adam Lambert didn’t win though, he should really have gotten that one. Thank the academy for not giving that Beiber kid the new artist Grammy, but still I would’ve preferred Mumford & Sons winning in that category.

John Mayer, Norah Jones and Keith Urban sing "Jolene". (Reuters)

As for the performances, my favourite was by far not an actual “performance”. It was the little tribute that Keith, Norah Jones and John Mayer performed for Dolly Parton before handing out the award for song of the year. Jolene is one of my favourites by Dolly and they did an amazing job with it. They, along with some others, proved that good music doesn’t need fireworks, crazy clothing and special effects. Mumford & Sons, The Avett Brothers, Miranda Lambert and Barbra Streisand, were the others.

I will never become a fan of Lady Gaga. There’s nothing there that interests me. The giant egg-entrance was just tacky and dull. Also, I will never like rap and hip-hop.

I’m not big on fashion, it doesn’t really interest me at all, but there were some really nice dresses on the red carpet. The one that stands out in my memory is Nicole Kidman’s beautiful strapless one with the feathery things (see I told you I know nothing about fashion). I may of course be biased as she looked so good standing next to hear lovely man Keith, who also happened to be dressed impeccably as always. The worst dress of the night (not counting that horrid egg thing) was definitely Nicki Minaj (or whatever her name is) dressed in somekinda leopardy thing, with hair up to the sky. Not good, not good at all. Also, I’m not sure what to think about Katy Perry’s winged dress… but husband Russell Brand looked mighty fine.

Check out the Jolene performance right here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

