Skip to content

Pavlov’s dogs in action?

February 1, 2011

I was watching the first episode of American Idol season 10 today and when Ryan Seacrest mentioned the Hudson River (they were in New Jersey) I felt an overwhelming urge to listen to Billy Joel. It’s funny how the mention of something in New York State of Mind can trigger such a strong urge, especially when there was no mention of Billy Joel or any of his songs anywhere. Perhaps my brain just associates New York with Joel… And perhaps some of the bad singing had my brain craving some really good music. Nevertheless, it’s an interesting psychological phenomenon that I cannot possibly decipher, as I’ve never even done as much as a course in psychology. I chose philosophy instead.

That said, here’s a little something for my poor brain.

Oh and as a word of warning, this may be the first of many posts to mention American Idol. I am a little ashamed to admit it, but I do like American Idol. After all, it has given us some gems like Carrie Underwood, and my personal favourite, Adam Lambert. And I don’t even like “dance music”…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

