Skip to content

One life ends, another begins

January 18, 2011
tags:

There are two very conflicting things to write about today. First of all, Keith Urban and Nicole Kidman announced yesterday that they are the proud parents of another little baby girl Faith Margaret Kidman Urban!

“Our family is truly blessed, and just so thankful, to have been given the gift of baby Faith Margaret. No words can adequately convey the incredible gratitude that we feel for everyone who was so supportive throughout this process, in particular our gestational carrier.”

Beautiful news and I’m so happy for them because they’ve said they wanted another child so many times. Imagine having Keith as a parent.. Whoa. He can teach ’em both to play guitar… Who am I kidding?? I’d rather be Nicole.

What a man... *sigh*

The second order of business today is the news of Don Kirshner dying… Maybe it’s wrong of me to say this but I’m not particularly sad about it.. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not happy either, just.. ambivalent. Don Kirshner was known as “the Man with the Golden Ear”. Sure he helped create some hits in his time, but the way he did it was just not right. He didn’t treat the Monkees with much respect at all, and when they wanted to be a real part of making the music i.e. writing and playing he pretty much waved the contract in their faces and said ‘no you’re doing what I say and I say you record “Sugar, Sugar” and that’s final’. He also released the Monkees’ second album without them having any say in it. They found out about the album while on tour because they saw it at a record store. Luckily the producers of the TV-show were on the boys’ side so Don was fired and the Monkees did what they wanted to do. In my opinion they recorded their best stuff after that. It may not have been as popular, but it sure was awesome. After Don was fired he went on to create the Artchies. Yes, the Archies, a completely fictional cartoon band that he could control completely. They recorded “Sugar, Sugar” and it did become a hit, but was it any good? Not really.

Ah man… I’ve tried to find a picture of the Monkees with Kirshner, and I KNOW there’s at least one out there, but I just can’t find it so instead I’ll put up a video of a song that he had a hand in.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

